illinois horse ONLINE:: The Board
April 25, 2014, 05:55:57 AM *
Welcome Guest, please

Login with username, password and session length
News: Hug your horse today! Smiley

Home   Help Staff List Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: Ask the pro.. Dressage questions.  (Read 13495 times)
wejump2
Weanling

Stella learning Piaffe

« on: June 23, 2011, 01:30:34 PM »

Hi
The board is really slow so I thought I would answer any Dressage questions.
I am a USDF L , FN Germany certified and an FEI rider and trainer.
If you have a dressage related problem, ask away.
BF
michi
Happy Go Lucky
Herd Leader

« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 08:09:39 PM »

What a nice gesture! I hope people take advantage of your vast knowledge!
whostardis
Horse

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2011, 09:33:08 PM »

I'm new to dressage and have a question.  When I see judges listed for show, they always have a letter (s, r etc.) designation.   I've been through the rules and can't find what these designations mean.  Can you help?

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, totally worn out and proclaiming "WOW! What a ride!"
dsyoung
Yearling

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 05:41:07 PM »

L graduates (not called judges) go through a USDF training and testing program. USEF (not USDF) licenses r, R, and S judges. r judges may judge through Second Level, R judges may judge through Fourth Level, and S judges may judge through Grand Prix.

"To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all." -Oscar Wilde
serendipity
Foal

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 07:33:47 PM »

And then there are the FEI levels:

C  =  Candidate judge (kind of a step between USEF "S" judge and FEI "I" judge)
I  =   International judge
O  =  Can judge at any level, all competitions including the Olympics.
agiudice
Foal

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2011, 03:45:53 PM »

question about a bit....